Facebook Marketing / Internet News / Online security

I Was Just Friended By Myself On Facebook (And It Only Gets Weirder From There)


I got a friend request from Bianca Bosker on Wednesday night.

I’m Bianca Bosker, one of just three on Facebook, so the notification took me by surprise.

What followed spooked me: When I finally scoped out this new Bosker at 8:30 a.m. on Thursday, I found myself staring back at me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Someone had created a Facebook profile under my name, with my picture, and with all my personal information — and then immediately friended me. This new Bianca had the same cover photo as the old Bianca (aka me); an identical list of jobs, schools and affiliations; and had “liked” the same pages I’ve “liked” — “Global Disaster Relief on Facebook,” “Roger Ebert,” and even Switched, an AOL tech site shuttered over a year ago. Even more disturbing was the fact that “Bianca Bosker’s” most recent status update was word-for-word, period-for-period, my most recent status update.

Only the Facebook profile photo was different. The fake account featured a picture of me that’s nowhere to be found on Facebook, but appears as one of the first results in a Google Image search for my name.

via I Was Just Friended By Myself On Facebook (And It Only Gets Weirder From There).

4 thoughts on “I Was Just Friended By Myself On Facebook (And It Only Gets Weirder From There)

  1. Pingback: Taking Facebook too far | Spread Information

  2. Pingback: Taking Facebook too far | Madeline Scribes

Leave a Reply

